Image

Minimum Two Years Experience Required…Wait, What??

Have you ever been job searching and found the perfect job? Only to have that job require experience…but you know you can do this job!! There is nothing more frustrating!  So, how do you get the experience if no one is willing to take someone without experience?

This analogy went through my head this morning after I finished a very difficult workout.  I was thinking how many people do not start a fitness program because they believe they are not “strong enough” or “in shape enough” or able to compete with the others.  That mindset is why I love Beachbody and not going to the gym, but working out at home!!  I have no one else to worry about but myself; no one is looking at me, I can focus on my workout and challenging myself.

Back to today’s workout…another “fitness sister” posted a workout yesterday that sounded like a workout I would enjoy so I checked it out today.  The workout was very strength-intense – my strength is nowhere close to that of the cast in the program but I knew it was not about them, it was about me challenging myself.  Did I have to modify?  Heck yeah!!  I have chronic back problems and occasionally my symptoms flare – especially if I am not using my core during difficult workouts.  That was going on today, requiring me to modify those movements.  Plus, like I said, I am still developing my strength and modifying was necessary – but my workout STILL COUNTED!!  Some individuals (like my hubby) do not like to modify and look at modifying as failure and would rather just forego the workout if they are unable to do it full out.  Just like getting that job experience, modifying gets you the ability (the experience) to go full out.  Modifying is a necessary step in fitness progression.  No one goes to the bench press for the first time, loads up each side with 150lbs and does 10 reps!!  They start light – it is the same thing…it is still modifying!

That being said, only compete with yourself; challenge yourself!  Embrace the modifications there to help you progress to the next level…to get your “experience” in for the full workout (that perfect job).  It builds belief, strength, and ability.  You CAN do it!!  No matter how long it takes…never give up.  If you do not do it now because you believe you “can’t” and look back a year from now from the same place you are at, will you regret not starting because you did not want to modify?  Just modify…and let’s look back a year from now seeing how far we have come!!

Leave a Reply

